Happy Birthday Dear Mom.

04/05/2010

Last Sunday was my Mom’s Birthday! She has been through so much in the last 5 or so years and has shown me what being a strong, loving woman is all about. With 5 kids under her belt, she is the most supportive person I know, yes I mean that. She supports me in my bands, all my crazy hair colors, tattoos, jobs, moves and most importantly, my life decisions. I love her dearly.
For her birthday she asked if we (husband, brother, sister, brother-in-law) would come up and see her new place on Camano Island. We all live in the city so she usually comes out to see us. We all piled in my brothers car and prepared for the hour drive up north with cards, flowers, gifts and for something a little different then chocolate and vanilla I baked an Appleyest Spice Cake. This was one of the best things I have ever baked! we ate it all and My sister said “This is Vegan?!” I cant take credit for this one though, I followed a recipe out of the cookbook Get It Ripe . So. Awesome.

Appleyest Spice Cake
Preheat oven to 350 deg.  lightly oil a 9 inch cake pan and dust with flour.
Walnut streusel topping:
Combine:
1/3 C chopped walnuts 1/3 C flour 1/4 C sugar 1 Tsp cinnamon 1/4 Tsp sea salt
2 Tsp earth balance
Cake:
1 or 2 apples, peeled, cored and thinly sliced.
Lay down as many apple slices that will fit in the pan without overlapping.
in large bowl whisk together:
1 2/3 C flour 1/2 C sugar (I used 1/4 cup sugar) 1 Tsp baking powder 1 Tsp baking soda
1 tsp Cinnamon 1/2 Tsp sea salt.
Add:
3/4 Cup applesauce 1/2 Cup non-dairy milk (hemp, soy, almond, rice milk) 1/4 Cup oil (sunflower, coconut, canola oil) 2 Tsp apple cider vinegar.
Pour the batter over the apples and sprinkle with streusel topping.

Bake for about 30 min.  drizzle with syrup or malt and serve!
Sadly, I have no pics of this but I assure you, it is so good and easy to make!

Leave a Reply

